Leader of Cardiff Council and Cabinet Members Elected

At the Annual Meeting of Cardiff Council yesterday, the Leader and members of the Cabinet were elected.

The new Cabinet is:

  • Leader: Cllr Huw Thomas
  • Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Education: Cllr Sarah Merry
  • Cabinet Member for Finance, Modernisation & Performance: Cllr Chris Weaver
  • Cabinet Member for Housing and Communities: Cllr Lynda Thorne
  • Cabinet Member for Climate Change: Cllr Caro Wild
  • Cabinet Member for Investment & Development: Cllr Russell Goodway
  • Cabinet Member for Culture, Parks and Events: Cllr Jennifer Burke-Davies
  • Cabinet Member for Transport and Strategic Planning: Cllr Dan De’Ath

Two Cabinet portfolios are shared:

Social Services Portfolio

  • Cabinet Member for Adult Services: Cllr Norma Mackie
  • Cabinet Member for Children’s Services: Cllr Ashley Lister

Tackling Poverty, Equality & Public Health Portfolio

  • Cabinet Member for Public Health and Equalities: Cllr Julie Sangani
  • Cabinet Member for Tackling Poverty and Supporting Young People: Cllr Peter Bradbury